top of page

A Life Update

Hello All, Wow, it has been a while since I last sat down at my computer to write a blog post. Throughout these past few weeks, I have thought of many ideas to write about, wrote them down, but unfortunately never followed through with them. Quarantining, readjusting to home, classes, and more has me in a funk. If you didn’t know, I have been seeing a therapist for well over a year, and before being sent home from Greece I had, unfortunately, put my appointments on the backburner. My therapist is fantastic and allows for online skype meetings, which are phenomenal. Still, unfortunately, I thought I was greater than my mental health, which I quickly learned that I needed to make it a priority. During the first week of quarantine, I was adapting to the time change and a completely new schedule. I was getting used to things adjusting back, unpacking, and just reuniting with family and friends that I could call. Unfortunately, I was on a self-isolation for two weeks, and I could not go visit.

(Walking with my mom and sister; sign found on our walk; Video chat with friends)

At the beginning of the two-weeks of self-isolation due to traveling, I had the mindset that I would be able to go out with my friends and see my family afterward, but that quickly turned into much longer. As you all know, we are still in self-isolation and who knows how long we will continue to be. This is tough for me, I am a social butterfly, and I love to interact with people. I miss my friends. I miss going out and doing things. I miss having a sense of freedom. I am not the only one going through this; we all are. To help myself get through this, I was able to pick up a part-time job at my local Theisen’s. Here I am a cashier, which allows me to get in the social aspect that I need to thrive. I enjoy having a reason to get up, put myself together, and get out of the house safely. Living on a farm also allows me to have the opportunity to enjoy the new life on the farm. This spring has brought new calves, kids, and kittens. Last year I missed a considerable portion of this time because I was attending college in person; a blessing in disguise of being sent home early is that I was able to witness the birth of newborn calves, along with my sister’s baby goats. We also had newborn kittens born on the farm. These sweet innocent animals are adorable to watch them play and kick around.

(Newborn kids; newborn calf; dad helping a calf learn to nurse)

During this tough time, I ask that you find small moments of joy and ways to keep pushing. I know you see this all over social media, and it is challenging to stay positive. But please, reach out to those around you, find something that makes you smile, and don’t forget that this WILL end! I hope to start writing again, and maybe it will be every week, maybe every other week. - With love, Cambrie

bottom of page