top of page

Summer Intern to Full-Time

Oh boy, do you guys deserve an update.


The last time you guys heard from me was about four months ago when I wrote about my journey in Glenview, Illinois with my internship with Historic Wagner Farm. I talked about personal development and believing in myself. In early August, I left my internship to head back to school. This was by far probably one of the hardest things for me to do. I cried and cried a lot. I loved this internship, it was a place where I grew in many different ways. I found my “first kiddos”; these 4-H’ers really changed my perspective and warmed my heart.


(The best group of kids I could have ever asked for. **I did block out some of their faces because I wanted to keep their privacy**)


After I left my internship, I had a few days off and then jumped straight into student teaching at Charles City High School. Student teaching has definitely had its ups and downs, I have had good and bad days. Days that were just okay. I have learned so much about things that I want to use in my future classroom, things that I do not want to use in my future classroom, management strategies, and so much more.


(One of the first lessons I felt extremely confident in, so I took this picture to remember my experience.)


I was so lucky to become involved in a classroom with one teacher that has been teaching for almost 40 years and another teacher that has been teaching for just over 10 years. I have been able to see various methods, expectations, and relationships in teaching with others. I am so excited to take all of this knowledge into my future classroom.


(In this collage the pictures include two service projects, grape jelly making, boutonniere making, National FFA Convention as a teacher, welding projects, and just a fun individual picture)


With the conversation being around my future classroom, in case you didn't know, I have accepted a position with Jesup Community High School as the Agriculture Education Teacher and FFA Advisor. I am super excited to get started here and be able to develop and build on a strong program.



I have taken some time to create an Amazon Wishlist for my classroom. There is absolutely no need to purchase anything on this list, but if you feel so generous I would truly appreciate it. Also, if you see something on this wishlist that you own and want to donate I would love it. I absolutely do not need brand new items, just looking for items that will be helpful.



I appreciate you guys for always taking the time to read my infrequent blog posts. I would like to promise they will be more frequent as I settle into my new position but I am sure life will still be busy then, just a different type of busy.


- With love, Cambrie

bottom of page